

TAMIL NADU HISTORY CONGRESS 31st ANNUAL SESSION – 2024

General Secretary	: Prof. S.S. Sundaram	General President: Dr. V. Venkataraman	
Vice-Presidents	: Dr. V. Ranganivas, Dr. k	L. Vijaya, Dr. V. Ravichandran	
Joint – Secretaries	: Dr. H. Munavarjan, Dr. I	P. Balagurusamy, Dr. A. Mahalingam	
Treasurer	: Dr. T. Abdul Khadar		
Editor	: Dr. M. Lakshmanan		
Advisory Committee : Prof. P. Jagadeesan, Prof. A. Chandrasekaran, Prof. A. Karunanandan			

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Dr. R. Kuppan	Dr. P. Nagoorkani	Dr. S. Ganesan
Dr. S. Ramesh	Dr. D. Srivenidevi	Dr. R. Saravanan
Dr. V. Deepthi	Dr. G. Rengaraju	Dr. P. Kumaran
Dr. R. Jaganath	Dr. S. Saravanan	Dr. S. Rajagopal
Dr. V. Chitra	Dr. S. Ravichandran	
Dr. S. Swaminathan	Dr. G. Devaraj	

General President for the 30th Annual Session: Dr. M. Thilakavathy

SECTIONAL PRESIDENTS

nujam
n

Dear Colleague,

It gives me great pleasure to invite you to the 31^{st} Annual Session of Tamil Nadu History Congress to be held under the auspices of the Department of History, Mannar Thirumalai Naicker College (Autonomous), Pasumalai, Madurai – 625 004. Dr. S. Rajagopal, Assistant Professor of History, Mannar Thirumalai Naicker College (Autonomous), Pasumalai, Madurai – 625 004 will be the Organising Secretary for organizing the 31^{st} Annual Session of TNHC. The Organising Secretary will communicate to you soon the details regarding the date, delegate fee, hospitality, etc.

HISTORIAN TO BE HONOURED

Tamil Nadu History Congress will honour, **Prof. A. Karunanandan, Former Professor, Department of History, Vivekananda College, Chennai – 600 004** during this Session.

ENDOWMENT LECTURES

AVVM Sri Poondi Pushpam College Endowment Lecture established by AVVM Sri Poondi Pushpam College, Poondi, Thanjavur will be delivered by Prof. G. Venkataraman, Former Professor & Head, Department of Indian History, University of Madras, Chennai; *Dr. M. Thilakavathy Endowment Lecture* established by Dr. M. Thilakavathy, Former Associate Professor & Head, Department of History and Tourism & Travel Management, Ethiraj College for Women, Chennai by Prof. S. Anandhi, Professor, Madras Institute of Development Studies, Adyar, Chennai; *Tamil Semmal Dr. Ratna Natarajan Endowment Lecture* established by Dr. Ratna Natarajan, Director, Goodwill Educational Trust and Founder – President, ANT Educational Trust, Tirupattur by Dr. S. Ganeshram, Former Principal, Sri S. Ramasamy Naidu Memorial College, Sattur – 626 203; Dr. G. Viswanathan Endowment Lecture established by Dr. G. Viswanathan, Former Vice-Chancellor, Education University, Chennai, by Prof. T.M. Kumaresan, Former Principal, Sir Theagaraya College, Chennai; *Mannar Thirumalai Naicker* Endowment Lecture established by Mannar Thirumalai Naicker College (Autonomous), Madurai by Dr. K. Mavali Rajan, Associate Professor, Department of History, Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thiruvarur.

RESEARCH PAPERS

Research papers submitted for the 31st Annual Session of Tamil Nadu History Congress should be based on original research providing new data and interpretation of ancient, medieval and modern periods of Tamil Nadu History

under any one of the four sections mentioned above. The papers could be presented either in English or Tamil. The research papers not exceeding 8 pages should be neatly typed in double space in A4 size paper with endnotes at the end of the article [for style sheet refer to TNHC Website]. The research papers along with 150 words abstract should reach the Organising Secretary **Dr. S. Rajagopal** by e-mail.

A copy of the Research Paper and Abstract may also be sent to the General Secretary by e-mail. For research papers in Tamil, kindly copy the font and send it along with the article by e-mail.

 Contact: General Secretary E-mail: tnhcgeneralsecretary@gmail.com Mobile: 95660 80351, 90804 87578
 Organising Secretary E-mail: organisingsecretary31tnhc2024@gmail.com Mobile: 6380636949
 Life and Annual Members of TNHC are requested to send their e-mail id to General Secretary E-mail id, mentioned above

Members of TNHC are invited to send their articles for the Endowment Prizes mentioned below:

Dr. Prema Kasthuri Endowment – Women Studies Dr. S. Govindaraju Endowment – Art and Cultural History Vanavarayar Foundation Endowment – Freedom Movement Prof. G. Thangavelu Endowment – Historiography

Note: 1. Articles by single – author alone will be considered for endowment prize.
2. One member – one article – one endowment prize only.
3. Mention the name of the prize for which the article to be considered.

MEMBERSHIP

The membership in the Tamil Nadu History Congress is open to all those who are interested in the study of History irrespective of the basic discipline to which they belong. The existing Annual Members of the Congress are requested to become Life Members by paying Rs.3000/- or renew their Annual Membership by sending Rs.300/-. The membership fee may be sent by way of M.O/ D.D drawn in favour of the Treasurer, Tamil Nadu History Congress addressed to **Dr. T. Abdul Khadar**, Associate Professor, Department of History, The New College, Chennai – 600 014 (Mobile: 9841231628). New members are welcome to join the TNHC by paying any one of the above subscriptions.

ANNUAL PROCEEDINGS VOLUME

The research papers presented in the TNHC will be considered for publication in the Annual Proceedings Volume of the TNHC. All the Life Members, Patrons and Annual Members (of the respective sessions) are eligible to receive a copy of the volume free of cost. Tamil Nadu History Congress stands for the promotion of history on various aspects of Tamil Nadu History. Therefore, I take this opportunity to appeal to you in all earnestness to enlist support, co-operation and participation of all those who are interested in the cause of History.

I look forward to the pleasure of meeting you at Mannar Thirumalai Naicker College (Autonomous), Pasumalai, Madurai – 625 004.

PRINTED MATTER

To

With warm regards.

Kindly log on the TNHC Website: www.tnhc.org.in Yours Sincerely,

(S.S. SUNDARAM) General Secretary

From	×
Prof. S.S. SUNDARAM	
General Secretary, TNHC	````
Professor & Head	
Department of Indian History	
Chairperson, School of Historical Stu	udies
University of Madras	
Chennai - 600005	

Book Post